Tippecanoe School Corporation
TSC names Teachers of the Year
TSC names Teachers of the Year

The Tippecanoe School Corporation has named Lauri Vitale as the TSC Elementary Teacher of the Year and Sig Kriebel as the TSC Secondary Teacher of the Year.

"We think this is a tremendous opportunity to recognize our outstanding teachers," says TSC Superintendent Dr. Scott Hanback. "These individuals demonstrate a passion for teaching, inspire students and serve as role models among their peers."

Vitale teaches fifth grade at Klondike Elementary School. She has taught for seven years with the Tippecanoe School Corporation. She holds a bachelor's degree from Purdue University.

Klondike Elementary School Principal Scott Peters says Vitale has a passion for teaching and infuses that same passion into her students. "Learning comes alive in Mrs. Vitale's classroom where students develop a self-sustaining aquaponics ecosystem, design an artificial limb or build a water purification system," Peters says. "Learning is a joy in her classroom."

Kriebel is a former newspaper writer and editor who has taught English at McCutcheon High School for 20 years. He has a bachelor's degree from Azusa Pacific University in California and a master's degree from Purdue University.

McCutcheon High School Principal John Beeker says Kriebel is a strong role model for students because of his consistent, compassionate and reliable approach. "Mr. Kriebel's passion is unparalleled," says Beeker. "He maintains a level of efficiency that is fueled by his work ethic and personal, individualized care for students."

Vitale and Kriebel will represent the TSC in the Indiana 2020 Teacher of the Year program. A committee selected Vitale and Kriebel from a field of 19 building-level winners.

Elementary Schools

Battle Ground, Lauren Ahlersmeyer

Burnett Creek, Brandy Shiflett

Cole, Jessica Ferger

Dayton, Carolyn Howard

Hershey, Luanne Dodds

Klondike, Lauri Vitale

Mayflower Mill, Gypsi "SunShine" Waber

Mintonye, Karin Schurman

Wea Ridge, Joanne Sprunger

Woodland, Jill Shambach

Wyandotte, Cara Gamble

Middle Schools

Battle Ground, Danielle Goldsmith

East Tipp, Danielle Wynn

Klondike, Neil Radtke

Southwestern, Emily Tierney

Wainwright, Andrew Moody

Wea Ridge, Shelbie Sanders

High Schools

Harrision, Ann Hammons

McCutcheon, Robert "Sig" Kriebel